Best Paper

The goal of the PASC Conference papers program is to advance the quality of scientific communication between various disciplines of computational science and engineering in the context of high performance computing. Seventeen full papers will be published in the Proceedings of the PASC Conference (PASC22), describing high-quality contributions of original research related to scientific computing in a variety of different disciplines. The selected papers will be publicly accessible via the ACM Digital Library.

The best paper prize was awarded to Martin Berzins and his colleagues John Holmen and Damodar Sahasrabudhe from University of Utah for their paper "Porting Uintah to Heterogeneous Systems". Martin presented the paper in a plenary session. Full recording available here.

ACM Europe Council and PASC22 Best Paper Award
Porting Uintah to Heterogeneous Systems - Plenary
Authors: Martin Berzins, John Holmen, Damodar Sahasrabudhe (University of Utah)

Best Poster

Over 50 posters were presented at PASC22 from the various scientific disciplines represented at the conference.

Posters play an important role in the conference as they offer the possibility to exchange ideas and expertise within and between scientific fields. Like in previous years, presenters had the opportunity to explain the main idea of their posters to the conference audience in a rapid-fire flash session. During the poster session, attendees had the chance to learn more about the posters and vote for their favourite contribution.

Here below you can find the winners of the poster awards and on the PASC22 YouTube channel you will find their interviews.

P04 - Scaling the Plasma Simulation while Conserving the Mass: A Massively-Parallel Semi-Lagrangian Solver with the Sparse Grid Combination Technique
Authors: Theresa Pollinger (University of Stuttgart), Katharina Kormann (Ruhr-University Bochum), Dirk Pflüger (University of Stuttgart)

P36 - Bayesian Parameter Estimation of Galactic Binaries in LISA Data with Gaussian Process Regression

Authors: Stefan Herbert Strub, Luigi Ferraioli, Simon Christian Stähler, Cédric Schmelzbach Domenico Giardini (ETH Zurich)

P37 - Preparing a High-Order Incompressible Flow Solver for Next Generation Supercomputers

Authors: Martin Karp, Niclas Jansson, Philipp Schlatter, Stefano Markidis (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)